I’ve been wrestling with the subject of promoted tweets for a while and I think I’ve come up with a solution. A solution that makes me feel better, at least.

20131103-022652.jpg

Promoted Tweets Aren’t That Bad

They really aren’t. Actually, they’re a good thing and I fully support them. Provided they are relevant to me, that is. Unfortunately this is rarely the case, as you will see if you read on.

Blame Those I Follow

What I’m finding is that a lot of the promoted tweets I see in my feed are not relevant to me. The reason for this is quite simple. If a brand promotes a tweet, one of the targeting criteria is to promote to those who follow the brand’s followers. This seems fundamentally broken to me. It’s as if Twitter assumes I have the same interests as the people I follow. I don’t. It’s as simple as that.

So because of this, my first solution was born. If I saw an irrelevant promoted tweet, I would unfollow the person whom I am following, that is following the brand doing the promoting. I soon realised that if I kept this up, I would end up following no one. So I stopped doing that.

The Winning Solution

Some time later, promoted tweets are still pissing me off. And I realise that there’s nothing I can do to fix Twitter’s broken targeting. My current solution is much more focused on the brand. Now, whenever I see an irrelevant promoted tweet, I block the brand doing the promoting. I’ll never see that brand in my feed again. Good riddance to bad rubbish.

My only concern is that I will now probably be on the receiving end of lower bidding (and probably lower quality) promoted tweets.

Oh well, I guess I’ll just have to nuke them too…

2 thoughts on “Promoted Tweets Annoy Me

  1. Before I read the article I knew exactly what I was going to reply. I don’t mind promoted tweets if they’re relevant to me. It seems we agree 🙂

    Really, they’re no worse than some of the other junk I see on twitter – unfollower/follower stats, foursquare, etc.

    By the way, is it possible to comment on your blog without registering?

    Like

    1. Yeah, they’re a necessary evil, I guess.

      As for registering to comment, I use Disqus which is nice and easy for most folk because you just log in with a social profile and go. Unfortunately, it sort of takes over and you can’t just comment without some sort of sign in. It does keep the spam down, though! Swings and roundabouts, as they say!

      Like

Comments are closed.